U3A Maitland, an incorporated association, is non-religious and apolitical. We do not provide advice on health, finance or other matters requiring professional expertise and input. The courses/activities provided will not be used for fund-raising purposes.

How did the Maitland U3A idea begin?

The idea for a U3A in Maitland came to Wendy Pearson while holidaying on the Mekong River in 2013 where she met some folk from Newcastle who were involved with Newcastle U3A. They told her they were enjoying so many activities and were so enthusiastic about the U3A system Wendy came home and began thinking about starting a U3A in Maitland. The NSW U3A Network representative, Keryl Collard from Maitland Library and Maitland City councillor Loretta Baker offered assistance and so it all began.

Our Management

U3A Maitland currently has 243 active members and conducts about 40 courses/activities over the year. Each year is split into four terms of 8 weeks to coincide with the school schedule so that grand-parenting can occur during school holidays. We cater for the lower Hunter Valley region but most of our members live within the Maitland local government area.

We have a management committee with small sub-committees devoted to organising and managing social gatherings and outings.

Our Annual General Meeting and election of office bearers is normally conducted in September each year.

Course Leaders

Our course leaders mostly come from within our membership. From time to time we have non-members leading some courses.

Join U3a Maitland

Committee Members

CommitteePersonEmail
PresidentMark Tindallpresident@u3amaitland.org.au
Vice PresidentPeter Wilsonvice_president@u3amaitland.org.au
SecretaryJulie Arnottthe_secretary@u3amaitland.org.au
TreasurerSteve Housetreasurer@u3amaitland.org.au
Course CoordinatorSue Chapmancourses@u3amaitland.org.au
Venue CoordinatorSue Chapmanvenues@u3amaitland.org.au
Enrolment OfficerDonna Reillyenrolments@u3amaitland.org.au
Leaders LiaisonErrol Singerleader_liason@u3amaitland.org.au
Newsletter EditorAlan Pringnewsletters@u3amaitland.org.au
Social CommitteePeter Wilsonsocial@u3amaitland.org.au
WebmasterJeff Northwebmaster@u3amaitland.org.au
Public OfficerDavid Atkinsonpublic@u3amaitland.org.au
Grievance OfficerWendy Pearsongrievances@u3amaitland.org.au

U3A Maitland Constitution

View U3A Maitland Constution

Contact U3A Maitland

U3A provides a broad range of activities, courses and social events to pursue. We help retirees stay social and enjoying life. Contact our committee today to become a member.

Contact u3a maitland